There has been a lot of confusion as to what constitutes a halal food or drink and what doesn’t. The main non-halal food as most people know is pork, due to hygienic reasons. The method of preparation also has a lot to do with whether a food is considered to be halal or not. When consuming meat, the blood must be drained from the animal, and the killing must be performed by a Muslim.
Some Examples Of Halal Foods
There are many examples of halal foods, but we will cover a few that some people might be unsure about:
- Wild bore: wild bore meat is closely related to pork, but it is considered halal food due to the hygiene of the animal. According to the Qu’ran, pork is the only meat that is always considered to be not halal, and all other forms of meat are dependent on the killing of the animal.
- Meal replacement shakes: meal replacement shakes, or weight loss shakes are made of plant-based protein and plant fiber. They are designed to supplement a balanced diet or part of a weight loss regimen.
- Soy based products: soy is used a meat replacement food that is high in protein and other nutrients. When cooked a certain way the texture can be similar to pork, so this is a good halal substitute to eating pork itself.
These are just a few examples of foods that are considered to be halal. This line is usually fairly cut and dry but there are certain circumstances that could be in a grey area.