Halal – means lawful. Muslims all over the world are required to eat only Halal foods made from Halal ingredients.The Islamic dietary laws are based on Quranic teachings and Hadith and are based according Islamic laws. The Halal ingredients are from grain, plant, chemical, synthetic (Halal), Dairy (if Halal enzymes and Halal culture media are used), egg products, fish and Zabiha meat sources.
Grain/Plant based ingredients:
Baker’s yeast, Baker’s yeast extract, Beta Carotene, Microbial rennet, Chocolate liquor, Glycerin , Torula yeast and All purpose soy sauce.
Mineral, chemical, synthetic (Halal or kosher certified) based ingredients:
Artificial Flavor (made from Halal ingredients without alcohol), BHA and BHT and vanillin (from Halal synthetic source).
Dairy Ingredients ( made with Halal enzymes and Halal culture media or kosher certified): Acid Casein, Buttermilk solids, Caseinates, cheese powder, Lactose, Whey and Whey protein concentrate.
Ingredients made from plant fat( Halal or kosher certified): Stearates, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, DATEM, Mono & Di Glycerides, Ethoxylated Mono & Di Glycerides, Lecithin, Enzyme Modified Lecithin( Halal or kosher certified), Margarine, Polysorbate 60 or 80, Sorbitan Monostearates and Tocopherol.
Haram means unlawful, again it is an Arabic word. Muslims are prohibited to consume Haram food products made from from Haram ingredients. They also based according to Quranic teachings and Sunnah.
Haram ingredients from alcohol beverages: Beer, Beer flavor, Rum Flavor, Hard Cider, Beer Batter, Soy Sauce , Wine, Pure Alcohol as a Natural Flavor, Vanilla Extract containing alcohol.
Haram ingredients from Human body: L-Cysteine from human hair.
Haram ingredients from Pig: Bacon, Ham, Gelatin, Enzymes, Marshmallow, Vitamins.
Grain/plant based ingredients with pig based carrier: Beta carotene (pig Gelatin) and BHA/BHT.
Dairy ingredients made from pork enzymes and culture media: Caseinates, Lactose, Whey.
Ingredients made from pork fat: Lard, Mono & diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, DATEM, Polysorbate 60 or 80.
Mushbooh is an Arabic word for doubtful things. Muslims are required to stay away from doubtful things. Food products and food ingredients whose sources are not known whether they are made from Halal or Haram source fall under this category.
Yeast Extract from brewer’s yeast (some Islamic scholars considered it Halal but to other think it is a Mush-booh ingredient).
Cochineal/Carmine color (Islamic scholars in UK and South Africa considered it Haram but others do not considered it Haram).
The food flavor of a food substance is the combined sensation of the taste and odor as perceived by the eater or drinker of that substance. The food flavorings are available to the food industry producer as solids, liquids, and paste. The food flavoring is man made and they are compounded from natural and/or synthetic aromatic substances which may or not be found in nature. Flavors may be a mixture of any flavors or flavoring ingredients such as
Enzyme Modified Flavor with addition of carriers,
The impact of natural flavors on Halal food products can be best described in McDonald’s French Fries and Hash Browns. The raw French fries and hash brown are made with Natural flavor as indicated on their ingredients list. But no body know except the suppliers and McDonald that the natural flavor is made of Non-Zabiha beef extract.
Muslims should be very care full of following flavors in meat cheese related products such as meat Loaf seasoning, gravies and process cheese products
Meat, Savory Flavors and Extracts:
The McDonald raw French fries and Hash Brown are made with a food flavor containing Non-Zabiha beef extract.
Dairy Flavors containing animal enzymes.
Alcohol as an ingredient and Carrier in flavors
ALCOHOL AND FERMENTED FOOD PRODUCTS:
Alcohol is widely used as a carrier in many food flavors. Alcohol in food flavors will mostly evaporate if it is used as a solvent in food flavors for baked products or heat treated products. Some Islamic scholars do not consider a food product Halal even if it is made with all Halal ingredients but food flavor in which ethyl alcohol was used as a solvent. But other Islamic scholars recommend food products made with all Halal ingredients even if food flavors containing ethyl alcohol as a solvent.
You have to contact your Islamic scholars about their advise.
Muslim Consumer Group will not assign Halal status to food products which are even made with all ingredients but where ethyl alcohol was used in food flavors as a solvent.
NON ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES:
Most of non alcoholic beverages are made from alcoholic beverages where alcohol is separated by use of cones or other method but they contain leftover alcohol, the flavor and color of the alcoholic beverages. A wine or alcoholic beverage consists of 6-12% alcohol, water, flavors obtained through fermentation process, colors. Every single component of wine or alcoholic beverages are Haram, so if they present in a non alcoholic beverages then the non alcoholic beverages became Haram too.
CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS:
The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal:
Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media
Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media
Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk.
Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves
Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases
Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk added
Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese
Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese
Harmless plant based enzyme is added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese
Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food, gelatin is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums instead of gelatin
Cultured lipolyzed Cream: is considered Halal if the culture media, which is used to grow cultures is made from Halal ingredients. The use of microbial Lipase enzyme is the second requirement for cultured lipolyzed cream to be considered Halal.
Cultured Lipolyzed Cream is made with use of cultures and Lipase enzyme.
Lipase enzyme is used to split milk fat into free fatty acids eventually leading to methyl ketones, lactones and other volatile compounds for flavor.
Gelatin is a derived water soluble protein made by controlled hydrolytic conversion of collagen, the protein constituent of white fibrous connective tissue from animals.
Different kosher certifying organizations have different beliefs.
For example kosher organization with symbols
OU, CRC, V, Kof K do not consider pork gelatin as a kosher gelatin.
K, KO accept pork gelatin as a kosher product.
So the statements such as “Gelatin is considered Kosher regardless of its source of origin”, which appears in many Halal foods books is not true.
Gelatin in Jell-o Gelatin products is made from pork and considered kosher by a Rabbi who certify these products with a kosher symbol K. These products are Haram.
Kosher gelatin is also obtained from non kosher slaughtered cattle bones and skin in China, which is certified by a Rabbi in Florida. This gelatin is used in majority of Dannon Yogurts and other brand of yogurts.
Kosher gelatin is also made from pork source and listed as kosher gelatin in some products with kosher symbol KO. These products are Haram.
The Union of Orthodex Jewish Congregation of America certifies a Kosher gelatin, which is made from cattle. These cattle are slaughtered according Jewish laws by a Sochet . This kosher gelatin is used in Entenmann’s Frosted Toaster Pastries with kosher symbol UD. Many Islamic Scholars do not accept kosher meat as the meat of Ahle-Kitab because Sochet do not announce the name of Allah and other prayers on each animals.
Only fish gelatin and gelatin made from the bones and skins of Halal animals slaughtered according to Islamic Sharia is considered Halal.
Allah says in Quran
“This day are (all) things are good and pure made lawful unto you. The Food of the people of the books is lawful to you and yours is lawful unto them” (Sura 5, Ayat 5).
If an authentic and genuine non meat kosher certified food products bearing kosher symbols such as OU, K. CRC, V, Kuf K, KVH, COR and Parve meet the Islamic dietary requirements, then those products are considered Halal.
However if they contain gelatin, kosher gelatin, wine, alcohol, L-cysteine from human hair, wine vinegar, rum flavor, beer batter then they are considered to be Haram food products.
For example if a food product contains gelatin or Kosher gelatin and also bears kosher symbol, then it will not be considered Halal.
We do not recommend Kosher meat for Muslims because they do not announce Allah’s name on each animal. Majority of Muslims do not consider it Halal. Besides, the Zabiha meat is accessible to Muslims in USA and Canada.
PLEASE DONOT USE THE KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS IF THEY CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING INGREDIENTS:
1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list (9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewer s yeast, a by product of beer making (12) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (13) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant Milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea (14) Vanilla Extract (15) Wine Vinegar (16) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors.
i. Gelatin (Jell -o Gelatin products)
ii. Kosher Gelatin (from cow not slaughtered according Jewish slaughtering methods such as kosher gelatin in Dannon yogurts)
iii. Kosher Gelatin (from cows slaughtered according to Jewish method of slaughtered in which they pronounce name of Allah on the first cow and last cow, no pronouncement of Allah’s name between first and last cows such as kosher gelatin in Entenmann’s Frosted Toaster Pastries)
iv. Wine (Grey Poupon Mustard)
vi. Alcohol in Flavor ( Some Islamic scholars accept it as Halal and some do not, please consult your Islamic scholar)
vii. L-Cysteine from human Hair
Cochineal (Insect red color, all insect except gross hopper are Haram according to Hanafi fiqha)
viii. Naturally Brewed Soya Sauce (Soya sauce made with wheat and soy is Haram because the production of alcohol in its production and retention of 1-2% alcohol in soya sauce, Soya sauce made with water, Salt, Hydrolyzed vegetable Protein, Corn Syrup and Sodium Benzoate is Halal, it is also called All purpose Soya sauce)
ix. Brewer’s Yeast Extract ( some Islamic scholars accept it as Halal and some considered it mushbooh because it is by-product of beer making, please consult with your Islamic scholar)
x. Beta Carotene (made with gelatin, if fish gelatin or vegetable oil is used then it is Halal)
HOW TO IDENTIFY HALAL VANILLA AND ARTIFICIAL VANILLIN IN A FOOD PRODUCT:
There are three steps, a Muslim can used to identify the Halal Vanilla and artificial vanillin in a food product.
Step Number 1: Read the ingredients list on the food package. If you find a vanilla extract under the ingredients statement, this means the vanilla is extracted with alcohol and alcohol containing vanilla extract is added to the products. Vanilla Extract is a Haram ingredient. Stop here, do not use the product.
Step Number 2: If the ingredient statement does not indicate the presence of vanilla extract but indicate the presence of vanilla flavor or Natural flavor or Natural and Artificial Flavor, look for kosher symbol, if you find kosher symbol, this indicates that no animal derived ingredients are used in vanilla flavor or Natural & Artificial flavor.
This does not mean the product is Halal. Use of alcohol in vanilla flavor or Natural and Artificial flavor has to be investigated.
Step Number 3: Contact the food manufacturer to find out whether alcohol is used as the carrier or solvent in the vanilla flavor or Natural and Artificial flavor, if not, then consume the product.
If alcohol is used as a solvent, then do not consume the product.